fbpx

加州看护者资源中心成立于 1984 年,由 11 家中心构成的服务网络覆盖整个加州,它们向支持慢性病或衰退性疾病患者的家庭看护者提供服务,所患病症包括痴呆、阿尔茨海默病、脑血管疾病(例如中风或动脉瘤)、退化性疾病(例如帕金森综合征、亨廷顿病和多发性硬化症)或创伤性脑损伤 (TBI) 及其他疾病。

照顾患有认知障碍或其他残障的亲人会永远改变家属和看护者的生活。可能对长期看护者造成的严重影响包括:经济压力、法律困惑、健康问题和情绪波动。所幸,加州看护者资源中心面向全州提供免费支持,为成千上万个收入不同的家庭和看护者伸以援手。要符合服务条件,客户必须正在照顾在 18 岁后出现认知障碍的成年人,或年满 60 岁且日常自理(例如洗澡、进食或穿衣)需要协助的老年人。所有加州居民均可访问当地 CRC。


加州 CRC 服务模式

每家 CRC 都是看护家庭的服务提供点。CRC 联合服务,全面覆盖加州的所有县区。虽然每家中心都会根据所在地区调整服务项目,但都会为家庭看护者提供一系列核心服务,可能包括以下项目:

  • 专业信息 – 就看护问题和社区资源提供建议和协助,包括为家庭看护者提供专业信息的动态在线服务 CareNav™。
  • 统一看护者评估 – 标准化评估工具有助于定义和了解看护需求、干预措施和服务。
  • 家庭咨询与看护指导 – 向训练有素的工作人员寻求个人咨询(当面/电话),从而提供持续情感支持、连接看护者与社区资源并加深对看护选择的理解。
  • 临时看护 – 为短期托顾(居家支持服务、成人日托服务、短期/周末看护)提供经济援助,以协助在家照顾身患残疾的成年人的家庭看护者。
  • 短期咨询 – 与执业咨询师进行单独谈话,提供情感支持,帮助看护者缓解压力。
  • 支持小组 – 每月召开小组会议,营造支持氛围,让看护者分享自身感受,相互交换纾解看护压力的办法。
  • 看护者培训 – 为看护者量身定制特色课程,包括压力管理、自我护理、痴呆及其他主题。
  • 法律和财务咨询 – 向经验丰富的资深律师进行个人咨询;根据合同规定,这些律师将就授权书、财产和财务规划、托管及其他复杂问题提供指导。
  • 教育 – 为看护者、社区成员和专业人士举办研讨会,帮助看护者开展日常护理、规划未来的法律/财务需求、提升幸福感并获取可用资源。

联系任何 CRC 的无偿家庭看护者都将获得统一服务,如果需要额外服务,则需要进行统一评估以收集以下相关信息:看护者和看护对象的人口统计信息、看护对象的身体机能(例如,日常自理能力、医疗服务协助、行为问题 [如有])、护理计划需求(例如,法律规划、预先医疗指示)、财务状况和看护者的幸福(健康、压力、抑郁、孤独感)。完成评估后,我们将根据看护者的偏好制定护理计划。可能会在前次评估六个月后重新评估主要指标。只要看护者仍在继续看护工作,就可获得支持和服务。他们还会收到统一的客户调查,以便确定对服务的满意度。


我们的历史

CRC 系统的基础始于 1976 年在旧金山开展的一项基层工作,这是社区积极响应重大医疗保健问题和社会需求的结果。一小群家庭组成了一个特别小组,他们家里都有罹患衰退性脑损伤疾病的亲人需要看护,他们在旧金山一家教堂的地下室举行了一次集会。

由于当时并没有当地、州或国家组织致力于为患有认知障碍的成年人(例如阿尔茨海默病、中风、帕金森综合征或创伤性脑损伤)的家庭和看护者解决需求,这个小组认为,他们所面临的挑战将随着人口老龄化而变得更加严峻。维持所需的服务不仅需要志愿者们坚定的决心和毅力,还需要通过立法行为来改变和指导公众政策。

这个特别小组有幸得到时任州议员 Art Agnos 的支持,他在 1979 年提出立法,启动试点项目(当时称为“家庭生存计划”),为旧金山湾区需要照顾患有脑损伤成年人的看护者提供家庭支持服务。之后,州议员 Agnos 签署法律,将试点项目推广到其他地区,确保加州所有家庭都能享有这些亟需服务。

1984 年 9 月 30 日,加州立法机构通过了由州长 George Deukmejian 签署的《脑损伤成人家庭看护者综合法案》(《福利与机构法规》第 4362 节及其后条款),从此在加州精神健康部的领导下建立了覆盖全州的加州看护者资源中心网络。

在之后的 20 年间,加州共设立了 11 家 CRC,为许多心怀爱与奉献、选择在家照顾亲人的家庭看护者提供帮助。现在,我们的非营利性 CRC 继续发挥作用,为全加州的家庭看护者提供各种以消费者为导向、以需求为基础的服务。


我们的资金来源

加州看护者资源中心由加州卫生服务部 (DHCS) 提供资助。

每家中心都会获得当地资助。许多 CRC 还会经由《美国老年人法案》(OAA) 第 IIIE 条(家庭看护者支持计划)和第 IIIB 条、当地县级合约、私人基金会和赠款、当地商业合作伙伴和个人的慷慨捐赠获得资金。


THE ASSOCIATION OF CAREGIVER RESOURCE CENTERS

加州看护者资源中心协会 (ACCRC) 包括 11 家地区非营利性看护者资源中心 (CRC),服务对象涵盖全州约 550 万名无偿照顾家人和朋友的看护

Founded in 1984, the California Caregiver Resource Centers are a network of 11 centers throughout California which serve family caregivers who are providing support for someone affected by chronic and debilitating health conditions including dementia, Alzheimer’s disease, cerebrovascular diseases (such as stroke or aneurysms), degenerative diseases such as Parkinson’s, Huntington’s and multiple sclerosis, or traumatic brain injury (TBI), among many others.

Caring for a loved one with a cognitive disorder or another disabling condition forever changes the lives of families and caregivers. There can be devastating effects on those providing long-term care: financial pressures, legal quandaries, health problems, and emotional turmoil. Fortunately, the California Caregiver Resource Centers offer FREE support throughout the state, serving thousands of families and caregivers across income categories. To be eligible for services, a client must be caring for an adult with a cognitive impairing condition that occurred after the age of 18, or someone age 60 years and older in need of assistance with daily living activities such as, bathing, eating, or getting dressed. Every California resident has access to a CRC in their area.


THE CALIFORNIA CRC SERVICE MODEL

Each CRC is a service point of entry for caregiving families. Combined, the CRCs serve every county in California. Each center tailors its services to its geographic area, and each offers family caregivers a suite of core programs which may include the following:

  • Specialized Information – Advice and assistance on caregiving issues and community resources—including CareJourney™, a dynamic online service that delivers specialized information to family caregivers.
  • Uniform Caregiver Assessment – Standardized assessment tools to help define and explore caregiving needs, interventions, and services.
  • Family Consultation & Care Navigation – Individual consultations (in-person/phone) with trained staff to provide ongoing emotional support, connect caregivers with community resources, and increase understanding about care options.
  • Respite Care – Financial assistance for brief substitute care (in-home support, adult day care services, short-term/weekend care, etc.) to assist families caring at home for an adult with a disabling condition.
  • Short-Term Counseling – Individual sessions with licensed counselors, to offer emotional support and help with the strain of the caregiving role.
  • Support Groups – Monthly meetings in a supportive atmosphere where caregivers share experiences and exchange ideas to ease the stress of caregiving.
  • Caregiver Training – Individually tailored classes for caregivers on stress management, self-care, dementia, and other topics.
  • Legal & Financial Consultation – Personal consultations with experienced elder law attorneys who are contracted to provide guidance on powers of attorney, estate and financial planning, conservatorships, and other complex matters.
  • Education – Workshops for caregivers, community members, and professionals to help caregivers manage day-to-day care, plan for future legal/financial needs, promote well-being, and access available resources.

Unpaid family caregivers who contact any CRC receive a uniform intake and, if needing additional services, a uniform assessment that captures demographic information about the caregiver and care recipient, care recipient functioning (e.g., Activities of Daily Living, medical task assistance, behavioral issues if present), care planning needs (e.g., legal planning, advanced directives), financial status, and caregiver well-being (health, stress, depression, loneliness). At the completion of the assessment, a care plan is developed based on the preferences of the caregiver. A reassessment may take place on key measures six months after the assessment. Caregivers are able to receive support and services for as long as they are caregiving. Clients will also receive a uniform client survey to determine satisfaction with services.


OUR HISTORY

The groundwork for the CRC system began as a grassroots effort in San Francisco in 1976, as the culmination of one community’s determination to respond to a major health care and social need. A small group of families who were caring for loved ones with debilitating brain-impairing illnesses formed a task force and held a town hall meeting in a church basement in San Francisco.

Since there was no local, state or national entity that addressed the needs of families and caregivers of adults with cognitive disorders such as Alzheimer’s disease, stroke, Parkinson’s disease or traumatic brain injury at that time, the group identified that the urgency of the challenges they faced would grow exponentially as our population ages. Sustaining the services needed would require not only determination and perseverance on the part of the volunteers, but also legislative action to change and direct public policy.

The small task force was fortunate to have the support of then-Assemblyman Art Agnos, who in 1979, introduced legislation to establish a demonstration pilot project – at that time called Family Survival Project – to provide family support services for caregivers of brain-impaired adults in the San Francisco Bay Area. Assemblyman Agnos then authored legislation to replicate the pilot project in other regions, ensuring that all families in California had access to these much-needed services.

Signed by Governor George Deukmejian on September 30, 1984, the California Legislature passed the Comprehensive Act for Family Caregivers of Brain-Impaired Adults (Welfare & Institutions Code Section 4362 et. seq), thus establishing the statewide California Caregiver Resource Center network under the direction of the California Department of Mental Health.

In the two decades since, 11 CRCs have been established throughout the state to help the many families who, with love and dedication, choose to provide care for someone at home. Today, our nonprofit CRCs continue to provide a wide range of consumer-oriented, needs-based services to family caregivers across California.


HOW WE ARE FUNDED

The California Caregiver Resource Centers are funded by the California Department of Health Care Services (DHCS).

Each center is also funded at the local level. Many of the CRC’s receive funding from the Older Americans Act (OAA) Title IIIE (Family Caregiver Support Program) and IIIB, local county contracts, private foundations and grants, local business partners and the generous donations from individuals.


THE ASSOCIATION OF CAREGIVER RESOURCE CENTERS

The Association of California Caregiver Resource Centers (ACCRC) represents the 11 regional nonprofit Caregiver Resource Centers (CRCs) that serve the estimated 4.8 million unpaid family and friend caregivers across the state.

ACCRC strengthens and supports the capacity of the CRCs in their mission to address family and other unpaid caregivers through cost-effective ad prevention-oriented services.

ACCRC works with the eleven CRCs to buttress their activities as a statewide system, to serve as liaison with other statewide organizations, and to assist with coordination of planning, outreach, educational and advocacy activities.